“Eating to Live,” Day 22

ETL_bookI wrote a couple of weeks ago about a healthy-eating program I’m trying out, Joel Fuhrman’s “Eat to Live” diet that lets me eat lots of food, but nothing I’m addicted to, such as cheese, pizza, chocolate, and salt on everything.

It’s Day 22 for me on the program, and I’m committed to 6 weeks before I can re-assess. It’s going OK. I’m a little tired of green salads, but I’m enjoying trying different things in my salads, and I’ve learned about some green leafy vegetables that I had never tried before. Oh, and my bean soup has greatly improved as well. Even Hubby likes it, and he supposedly “doesn’t like beans.” (Then why did he eat 2 big bowls of my bean soup last night?)

At about 3:00 every day of my adult life, I’ve thought, “what should I make for dinner tonight?” Now at 3:00, I still begin to wonder what’s for dinner tonight, then I realize I’ll AGAIN be having a big leafy green salad that is healthy for my body, instead of something that would calm my nerves or warm me up, such as macaroni & cheese or a baked potato with butter, cheese, salt, & pepper.

I have lost about 4 lbs and I’d like to lose about 6 more. My body feels good, minus the normal sore knees. The food I’m eating feels “healthful,” to use a word I despise because there must be a better word for it. I haven’t been stuffed because I don’t love the food enough to stuff myself. I’m truly eating in moderation because there’s not as much joy in eating anymore. Supposedly my taste buds will adjust . . . Stay tuned.

Here are the items on today’s grocery store receipt. It blows my mind that I would eat food like this, and only food like this, for 22 days:

Bananas
Kiwi
Avocado
Green Beans
Pears
Belgian Endive (delicious)
Red Swiss Chard
Collard Greens
Romaine Lettuce
Tomatoes
Acorn Squash
Buttercup Squash
Cherry Tomatoesbeanitos
Cauliflower
Mushrooms
Fresh Dill
Coffee Creamer (I haven’t given up coffee like Fuhrman suggests, but I’ve cut back to one delicious cup in the morning.)
Beanitos (special treat)

I continue to exercise like before—I’m a good gym member. My pants might be fitting a little bit better. I feel happy looking at the grocery list above because I wasn’t sure I could do this . . . but I guess I can.

Have I cheated? Oh yes. Tonight with my enormous salad and small bowl of squash, I had a small, thin slice of cheddar cheese. It was HEAVEN and so much more satisfying than eating half the block of cheese would have been a couple of months ago. (Cheese is my great love.) Yesterday at work I had a piece of Russell Stover candy that someone gave to me. It had caramel inside. A few days ago I ate about 5 little Tootsie Rolls, which I deeply regretted and then let go of. They weren’t even very good, but I hopped back on the wagon afterward—it’s all I could do.

Beanitos are also cheating, but I only allow myself a couple of them a day and my sanity is worth two chips. Anyway, I’m trying.

Stay tuned. I’ll write again at the 6-week point. Cheers!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Eating to Live,” Day 22

  1. Alyssa says:

    Good for you! I don’t know if I could follow this eating plan, so I admire you for sticking to it.

Leave a Reply

