Dead Friends I Never Met

Don’t we all have dead friends we never met? I do. People I love and feel connected to, who died before my time, but who walk with me and support me, whose work or lives give me guidance and comfort. Here are a few of my beloved dead friends:

mlk81710

50 Years Ago Today, My Friend!

Susan B. Anthony

Susan B. Anthony

Walt Whitman

Walt Whitman

Jane Austen

Jane Austen

emily%201

Emily Bronte

Thomas Hardy

Thomas Hardy

Charles M. Schulz

Charles M. Schulz

–Those are just a few of my dead friends, those I thought of without even thinking. While I was typing, Hubby came home and I told him what I was up to . . . he said he doesn’t have any dead friends.

“Heroes, you mean?” he asked.

“No, I mean friends. You know, people who are with you in your life but who are not alive at this particular time.”

“No, I don’t have any dead friends,” he said, with a gentle mocking sound in his voice that also contained a bit of You’re Weird.

I pouted a bit. He wasn’t being fair when he hadn’t even tried to understand my point yet.

He nodded, paused, then continued, in a kinder tone,, “do you mean they’re people you’d like to hang out with and be friends with if they were alive?”

No, not really. (How like a man to think you can only be friends with someone if you hang out with them.)

Hubby tried again. “Maybe you mean that you admire these people. Are you talking about heroes?”

No.

“Are they people you’re saying that you wish you had known, but never got the chance to meet?”

No, no, no. I mean FRIENDS. Don’t most of us have dead friends?

Well, I do.

This entry was posted in Books, Celebrities, Cheers and Jeers, Just Thoughts, Quotations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

