A Gracious and Graceful Exit

A co-worker’s father-in-law died last week. He was 94. Before he died, my co-worker and her husband were making last-minute preparations for a long-planned trip to Hawaii. About a week before they were to leave, they told the old gentleman about their trip and their plans, and he thoughtfully said, “if something were to happen to me before your vacation, don’t worry about it at all. Just go on your trip and enjoy it!”

And just a few nights later, he died in his sleep.

My co-worker and her husband are in Hawaii now. They buried the father-in-law right before they left.

I wonder if he felt close to the end in some way. Would it be surprising? I suppose not. It doesn’t matter; what a gift he left, insisting his loved ones enjoy their trip of a lifetime. I never met him, but I do love this story about him.

This entry was posted in Gratefulness, Just Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Gracious and Graceful Exit

  1. Earl says:

    I don’t know, but I spent the summer before my event* explaining to my brother-in-law that he needed to find easier ways to do his seasonal chores (boats, docks, boat lift, etc…) because I’m not always going to be around.

    Sounded morbid at this time, I understand, but then I had my stroke* in late November of that same year. Almost like I knew something was up.

    Fortunately, it* was survivable…

Leave a Reply

