If I Were a Silver Lace Vine

In the spring of 2011 I planted a little stick that was supposed to turn into some pretty white vine. It grew a lot, but last year we had an early freeze, so I didn’t get any blossoms at all.

This year the vine grew some more, but we had such a hot and mosquitoey summer that I didn’t really tend it the way I should have. It went haywire all over my garden, growing over and around a big old maple tree stump. The good news for this year is, I got blossoms! And this “silver lace vine,” as it’s called, really does look like silver lace:

View from the east

View from the west

If I were a silver lace vine, I’d want the person responsible for planting me to give me a nice arbor to grow on so I look extra pretty and welcoming. So that’s what this person will do next year. Something fun to think about during the long Minnesota winter.

This entry was posted in Country Life, My Photographs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

