Geraldine Brooks On My Mind, or, a Note About Islands

I am approaching the end of an unforgettable book, “Caleb’s Crossing,” by the great Geraldine Brooks. I don’t want it to end. What a story, what an imagination, what a vocabulary, what a writer! I have about 15 pages left and I plan to soak it up slowly.

The main character, Bethia, and her family live on a remote islandoff the coast of the (future) United States in the 1660s—it eventually becomes Martha’s Vineyard. Bethia loves her island but also has to leave it to find her life.

There’s a beloved island in my life, too, on a lake in northern Minnesota (see below). I have known this island for 35 years, and it’s stood there as an enduring and silent constant in my life, but I’m not sure I’ve ever stepped foot on it. Maybe that’s why it’s so alluring to me.

I guess I love it because it’s small and wild:

This entry was posted in Books, My Photographs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Geraldine Brooks On My Mind, or, a Note About Islands

  1. Earl says:

    That should be your mission the next time you’re up at the lake.

    Step on the island…

Leave a Reply

