Today’s Cheers and Jeers

Cheers:

  • Spring
  • Rain for the trees and garden (finally)
  • Avocados
  • My cats
  • Kit Kat bars
  • “Dear Prudence” at Slate.com (every Thursday)
  • Sore knee feeling somewhat better today
  • A warm cozy house on a cold rainy night
  • My purring orange cat
  • New office supplies
  • Hot pink
  • Nice co-workers
  • The sunless tanning lotion that took the edge off my white legs
  • Barack Obama
  • Health care reform
  • Amy Klobuchar
  • Michelangelo
  • Bernini
  • the movie “Melancholia,” which I saw last night on DVD
  • Kirsten Dunst
  • Alan Alda
  • Mike Wallace

Jeers:

  • My annoying socializer “friend” at the gym who told me how I “always” get new gym shoes, when I work out a lot more than she does so I need new running shoes every 6 months or so. I am baffled that anyone would ever notice anyone’s gym shoes. I mean, who looks at other people’s gym shoes?
  • The socializer wanting to talk talk talk at the gym because she is lonely and needy and doesn’t have any interests, so she goes to the gym to socialize and bug people, when I merely go to the gym so that I can fit into my jeans from week to week, and can’t wait to get away from HER and all the other annoying people at the gym
  • Sore muscle in my back
  • Chris Brown and all of his so-called “music” (i.e., chanting with no melody)
  • Catholic bishops and the ignorant things they say about politics while their institution has tax exemption
  • President Obama being easy on off-shore drilling  AARGH AARGH AARGH
  • Organized religion
  • Mitt Romney
  • Exxon-Mobile
  • British Petroleum
  • BP’s PR commercials telling us what a civic-minded company they are
  • Oil companies with record profits and still no paying taxes!
  • Agri-business that ruins our environment, treats animals inhumanely and makes farmers look like the bad guys
  • Wells Fargo
  • Bank of America
  • Stay-at-home moms who act like martyrs because they work hard raising their children, when lots of moms have to be moms AND work outside the home
  • Martyrs who somehow pass for martyrs when they chose to have children in the first place. It’s not my fault that Mrs. Romney chose to have 5 children. She chose those children and presumably loves them all dearly. Now don’t complain about how hard you work. You didn’t have to have 5 children. Would 2 not have done the trick?
  • WordPress.com and not being able to insert bullet points on my blog because the icon is for bubbles or something, not bullets, and the icon instead gives me these dumb squares
  • When the Minnesota Twins play badly
  • When Hubby is a little grumpy (it’s OK when I’m grumpy, but not when he is)
  • The Protestant work ethic
  • Myself, picking on Mitt Romney’s wife, when no one should have brought her into the discussion in the first place. Shame on me. She is likely a very nice woman. One thing we know for sure, she is a very rich woman.
  • Grumpy me.
This entry was posted in Catholic Church, Cheers and Jeers, Gratefulness, Politics, Ranting, Recovering Catholic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

