A Couple of Good Words About Hubby, plus a cat photo

It’s SuperBowl Sunday. I’ve never really watched a SuperBowl game, although I’m usually aware when it’s on. I’m grateful to be married to a guy who knows enough about football to explain what’s happening in a game, but doesn’t need to set aside any time on a Sunday to watch football, and who doesn’t usually know who our team is going to be playing on any given weekend. We live in Vikings territory, so it was a pretty horrendous year to be a football fan anyway—a very easy year not to spend time watching the games on TV!

One of the best things about my husband is that he likes our three cats. He grew up on a farm where cats were seen as rodent catchers and creatures that would eventually die of some awful disease or get run over by a tractor. This was the natural course of things. However, as soon as Hubby met my cats (I had two at the time) when we started dating, they liked him anad he liked them. He could see how much I loved them and figured he’d better at least like them, too. He has a great sense of how to give a cat its space while still letting the cat know that it can trust him. My shy orange cat, Sagan, wasn’t shy around Hubby even at first. Now, twelve years later, I am still Sagan’s “person,” but he likes Hubby, too. I love this photo of the two of them outside last summer. Hubby got out one of our cat brushes and Sagan got a good grooming.

I also love all the green-ness of the picture. At this time of year it’s hard to imagine that we ever sit outside in shorts and t-shirts, cats or no cats.

Another good thing about Hubby is that he cleans the bathrooms faithfully every Saturday just like we agreed before we got married.  He also keeps the house warm (corn & pellet burners require daily maintenance, unlike gas heat) and he is responsible with money. He’s also really funny and occasionally even picks up the hint when I need him to tell me I don’t look fat. He is more open than I am to the various mysteries of creation and the universe. He is also not a republican and he likes to watch reruns of “M*A*S*H*”, “Magnum P.I.,” and “Frasier.”

I’ve got it pretty good, and so do my cats.

This entry was posted in Cats, My Photographs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Couple of Good Words About Hubby, plus a cat photo

  1. Ah this cat is so cute!! i love ginger cats! they have so much personality!

  2. Alyssa says:

    Aw, I love that photo! The expression on Sagan’s face is awesome. And you’ve got a great hubby. 🙂

Leave a Reply

