A Great Woman

I was on the treadmill at the gym one day last year, when a TV station announced that Gabrielle Giffords had been shot and killed. The few of us in the building, there to exercise on a bitter cold weekend in Minnesota, shook our heads, exchanged sorrowful comments, put on our winter coats and boots, and went home.

Well, as you know, Giffords hadn’t died. She survived that day, and now she’s let us know that she’s thriving; she’s going to be OK.  Today she resigned from Congress, but said she’s only taking a break so she can focus on healing and rebuilding her body. I’m extraordinarily amazed by her because she looks so sincerely positive, optimistic. So often I’m skeptical of people who seem cheery and grateful despite some tragedy in their midst. In the case of Giffords, I actually believe that big smile.

I can’t say that I’d be as upbeat. It’s entirely possible that I would crawl into a cave and die if some deranged moron changed my life in the way Giffords’ has been changed. But she’s taken the step of going back into the public eye, letting us see some of the physical effects of the shooting (this is one dauntless woman), effectively sharing her recovery with us, and even promising she’ll be back someday soon to work with us again.

What an inspiring woman! Ms. Giffords, bravo, and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Great Woman

  1. Alyssa says:

    I’m with you on this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

