The Fruits of My Labor

Last winter I ordered some raspberry plants to be delivered to me in the spring. I received the 18 “plants”on about April 20, when it was still cold and miserable in Minnesota. I put “plants” in quotes because they appeared to be just sticks. Not a spot of green on any of them. The directions said to put them in the ground and water them, so I did.

Around May 10, a few little green sprouts started appearing on the sticks, and then disappearing. I scratched my head and thought I must be imagining things. After a few rounds of this, I realized some critters must be munching the green buds off my raspberry sticks in the night! I put some tomato supports around them, which did kept the critters away. Then through the summer, I watered and watered and weeded and weeded, and watered some more, and now I have about surviving 13 raspberry plants. Only a few of them gave me berries this first year, but this one turned out pretty well:

The rest of the surviving plants seem fairly healthy and they look like this:

As for berries, I guess I’ll have to wait till next year for more than a small handful. And I will order some more plants as well. I have to say, however, that despite the satisfaction of now having a small raspberry patch, being able to harvest fewer than 30 berries is really disappointing. I always start my garden in the spring with such excitement, but when the cold weather rolls around, I’m sick of weeding and the “what ifs” (I had planted earlier, later, a different kind, etc.). It’s really one of the only good things about winter–there are plenty of long, dark, cold nights to think about next year’s garden.

This entry was posted in Country Life, Just Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

