Wells Fargo conclusion

Well, finally, I gave up on my Wells Fargo branch location in Owatonna, MN.

I called a toll free number somewhere in no-man’s land, got a customer service person, explained the situation, and she looked it up.

Oh, she said, since you don’t have any loans with us, you are now incurring a $12 monthly service fee. She continued:

Your options are to 1) open a new savings account with us, or 2) set up an automatic transfer from checking into your existing (miniscule) savings account on a monthly basis.

I don’t have any other options.

There’s free checking, but you have to make automatic deposits into a savings account. It’s amusing because they act like they’re doing this for me and not for themselves.

However, at least the rep on the phone explained exactly what needed to be done. She solved the problem for me. And she was nice about it.

I agreed to put $25 into my tiny little savings account on the 15th of each month.

She set it up while we were on the phone.

While I was on the phone, the rep also reversed my service charge. I saw it happen on my PC.

Why couldn’t my branch bank explain the situation this way? “We won’t reverse the service charge unless . . . ” Instead, they beat around the bush, and after a week still didn’t do anything.

Anyway, the situation is resolved. I have my $12 back. And now I can leave Wells Fargo. I’ll be stopping by to get my money in the next few days.

This entry was posted in Just Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wells Fargo conclusion

  1. Earl says:

    I’m not saying, but I have to say that I set up two recurring transfers into my paltry savings account and even set up another checking account for online shopping with Wells Fargo…

    Of course, to each their own…

    • clockwatcher23 says:

      So, you think they’re not bad? My experience has been good through the years. I just don’t like the sneaky fee.

  2. Alyssa says:

    Good for you. Close that account!

  3. Earl says:

    Take it as it is, of course, but:

    http://gnostinews.com/blog/2010/01/an_excellent_idea.html

    I still consider Wells Fargo evil and myself a lazy idiot…

Leave a Reply

