Times When I’m Embarrassed to be Human

  • When it snows 1/4″ and a male employee at the public library is trying to blow the snow off the sidewalk with a leaf blower because he’s too lazy to sweep or shovel
  • When I go through the MacDonald’s drive-thru, leaving my engine running and ordering french fries
  • When I see factory farms
  • When I go to the city and see the pollution
  • When I see old farmhouses and 100-year-0ld barns demolished for a new housing development to go in
  • When all the new houses in the housing development are required to have 3 garages, and have their choice of 2 different colors of siding—beige, or eggshell.
  • When I let food get old in the refrigerator instead of eating it while it’s fresh
  • When I do things that are bad for me, and I know they’re bad for me, and I do them anyway 
  • When perfectly beautiful women have plastic surgery to “improve” their looks.
  • When I see how the various organized religions seem to breed extremists who want to hurt everybody else –
  • When members of our species breed, in the 21st century, as if it’s still thousands of years ago and we might become extinct, so some women still have a dozen (or four) children and some men still father even more than that!
  • When I can’t distinguish between laziness and boredom
  • When I am too tired to read, but seem to have plenty of mental capacity to watch TV
  • When we don’t learn even the most basic lessons from history
  • When we don’t care for other creatures who don’t do us any harm, and whose presence makes our world more wonderful
This entry was posted in Just Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Times When I’m Embarrassed to be Human

  1. Alyssa says:

    “When I do things that are bad for me, and I know they’re bad for me, and I do them anyway”

    I relate to this so much . . .

Leave a Reply

