Ruminations on the Job Interview Process

inter

It’s been over a week since my third job interview for the same position, and I haven’t heard anything. None of my professional references has gotten an inquiry about me, either. So, I’m assuming that I’m out of the running. (My rejection letter should arrive in the mail any day now—maybe today!)

I am somewhat disappointed, but I’m also notably and significantly relieved. I’ve had fun at my current job in the last few weeks and I’m busier than ever, which all I’ve really asked for in this job. All the other elements are there—nice people, a comfortable work environment, and low stress. The pay isn’t fabulous, but it pays the bills.

Either way, I’m no worse off than I was before I went to all those interviews. In fact, interviewing with these folks was an intriguing yet low-risk experience. I may, in fact, have been too relaxed at my last interview. But I feel I did reasonably well and I am glad that I had the experience. Sometimes I think the most challenging thing about job interviews is just finding your own voice.Interview2

The websites that offer advice for job applicants don’t really cover this critical aspect of representing yourself to a potential employer—finding your voice, being comfortable in your own skin around strangers that you are looking to impress. Maybe it comes naturally to most people, but it doesn’t to me. It generally takes me awhile to be comfortable with new people and new surroundings. I can’t deny that this is probably not an optimal quality in a salesperson.

It could also be the reason I had trouble adjusting to my new job.

I might add that the interview process at this other company, where I recently interviewed three times, did not impress me. I suppose it’s the state of the economy, but while I did all the “selling,” I didn’t feel that the people I spoke to at the potential employer tried to sell their company to me at all. Their attitude was sort of, “so many people applied for this job that they’d better just sell themselves hard to us because they obviously want to work for us.” After three interviews, they probably sensed whether or not they wanted to hire me, but I still had NO IDEA if I wanted to work for them. For the most part, I didn’t feel the interviews were flexible enough for me to ask the questions I wanted to ask. The interviewers (8 in all) had lists of questions and just kept asking and asking. And a LARGE percentage of the questions were “Tell me about a time when. . . .” items. So it’s not like they were questions that encouraged a conversational setting. That was disappointing to me, but again, in this economy, I guess employers can interview however they please.

job-interview-2

And anyway, I am proud that I got to the third interview. Glad that I took a chance and put myself out there. It didn’t kill me. They didn’t even hit me or throw a single rotten tomato at me.

This entry was posted in Gratefulness, Just Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ruminations on the Job Interview Process

  1. Alyssa says:

    I wonder if all companies these days feel like it’s an employer’s market. Sounds like this one definitely did. I’m glad you’re feeling relieved about not getting the job.

    And hey, it says something pretty good about you that you were invited for three rounds of interviews. 🙂

Leave a Reply

