Office Space

Then do not grasp at the stars, but do life’s plain, common work as it comes, certain that daily duties and daily bread are the sweetest things in life.  ~Robert Louis Stevenson

I’ve got a few daily duties today, and here’s my daily bread (see photo). Thank heaven for the peanut butter & jelly sandwich. I usually have two of these every day for lunch at my desk. Somehow, because I’m always hungry at lunchtime, I rarely feel like I’m missing out on a better meal because I have PBJ. There’s just something magical about it. 

P1010138
I’m sure this is the millionth-or-so peanut butter & jelly sandwich that has been posted on someone’s blog. It’s such a perfect food that I can’t imagine why more people don’t bring PBJ for lunch every day.

Another thing that seems boring but which also brightens up my day, is hand lotion. Having hand lotion on my desk at work makes me feel like a pampered diva. Currently my lotion is this OPI stuff, which is delicious. It makes my whole office smell like a spa. (In case you can’t read it, the scent is “Coconut Melon.”) It kind of reminds me of a gorgeous, rich candle, but I would never burn a candle at work because I can’t trust myself to not set the place on fire. lotion

But the one thing that has really saved my life at my job (besides the internet) is my window. In the winter I set up a feeder; last year I attracted turkeys, cardinals, and of course squirrels and common birds. The rest of the year, I have a pretty little view of a woods. It’s nothing spectacular, but it keeps me connected to something outside of our ugly office:P1010139

As you can tell, everything else in the office is either tan or brown, so a window is necessary to maintain sanity. Excuse the messy desk. By the looks of it, you’d think I actually have work to do.

This entry was posted in Bored at work, Gratefulness, Quotations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

