Kanye

OK, Kanye, I forgive you. You seem truly sorry. We all do dumb things. I’ve done some insensitive things I wish I could take back, too. Here are couple of suggestions for you as you deal with the fallout:

  • Do something nice for somebody, now.
  • May I suggest looking into your alcohol abuse and finding out what’s going on there?
  • While you’re at it, look into the way you view & treat women. That picture of you squeezing your date’s ass the other night is not flattering to you. To be blunt, you look like a real pig.

On Forgiveness:

Funny how easy I find it to forgive people who I was never emotionally invested with. Usually, a sincere “I’m sorry” goes a long way with me.

It’s harder to forgive those closest to us because they can hurt us worse.

I can think of a few people who still owe me sincere apologies, in fact. But I’m not holding my breath. I owe a couple of long overdue apologies, too, and those are only the ones I can think of right away.

Sometimes people apologize in different ways  because they can’t bring themselves to say “I’m sorry,” or they’re not sure they should apologize because they might have to face their own unacceptable behavior. Or, they think apologizing for something a long time later will just open up old wounds.

And sometimes, people apologize and then go back to being their same old asshole selves. South Carolina’s Joe Wilson is a good example of this. In a nutshell, his actions & words this week go something like this:

  1. Heckle the US President on live national television.
  2. Look at your Blackberry.
  3. Get booed by your peers.
  4. Apologize for being an ass.
  5. In order to gain political favor from the cronies and extremists on your end of the political spectrum, state that you really meant what you said, even though you have been proven wrong.
  6. Announce proudly that you will not be apologizing anymore, implying that you’re sure glad you’re getting all this partisan support and that you were never really sorry to begin with.

When I was a kid I used to pray every night for a new bicycle. Then I realized that the Lord doesn’t work that way so I stole one and asked him to forgive me. – Emo Philips

This entry was posted in Just Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

