A Paid Semi-Vacation

That’s how I’m thinking of this job. I get paid to be here and not do much.

Since that’s not changing, my husband said this weekend:

“Feel free to quit at any time.”

I have a new idea. If I can’t find another job by fall of 2010, maybe I could hang in there for another winter and then quit in the spring of 2011. Then I could have the summer off.

I realize how ludicrous it is to be planning on when I can quit my job in the next 2 years, but I live in a rural area and there aren’t a lot of jobs around here. I just might not find another “good” job between now & then, especially if the economy keeps stagnating. And I’m pretty comfortable here financially and personality-wise. I love the people and what the organization does. I don’t relish the idea of being here another two years (almost), but maybe the two years would also give me time to develop some other ideas about what I want to do with my life–and a way to accomplish that.

Like, freelancing?

Like, finding a work-from-home job?

Like, volunteering for a company that I want to get a job at?

Like, going to school for something else?

Like, teaching some community ed classes?

I have been trying to think of what I’d do if I didn’t have to earn money and have insurance coverage. I guess I’d teach at the community college level. Can I find a way to do this?

I’m not sure. I don’t have any references in the teaching area, and there are never any openings. Maybe I could volunteer for free?

Ugh.

Anyway, I’m trying to keep my brain alive and figure out what’s next. At this rate, it really will take me two years to figure anything out.

This entry was posted in Just Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

